Skip to content

Sunday Morning Scones

August 18, 2009

Scones

Not too long ago I tackled one of my baking fears: scones.  I do not know why I was always so afraid of baking them.  Maybe I always felt like I could not compete with local bakeries.  That said, I put my fear aside and made fresh blueberry scones.  The recipe was so easy and they turned out great!

So last Sunday, I was feeling a little braver and decided to try a different recipe for chocolate chip scones.  I got the recipe from the Joys of Baking and it seemed just as easy as the other one I tried.  But in the long run, I was disappointed.  I felt like these turned out to be very crunchy and super sweet.  I like a nice soft scone with just a hint of sweetness.  My husband agreed with me and even said they tasted a little too rich.

Here is the recipe:

2 cups all purpose flour

1/4 cup granulated white sugar

1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold and cut into pieces

1/2 cup milk or semi sweet chocolate chips or chunks

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2/3 cup buttermilk (You will probably need more than this)

Egg mixture for brushing tops of scones:

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 tablespoon milk

Cinnamon Sugar:

2 tablespoons granulated white sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and place rack in middle of oven. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Cut the butter into small pieces and blend into the flour mixture with a pastry blender or two knives. The mixture should look like coarse crumbs.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  In a small measuring cup whisk together the buttermilk and vanilla extract and then add to the flour mixture. Stir just until the dough comes together (add more buttermilk if necessary). Do not over mix the dough.

Transfer to a lightly floured surface and knead dough gently four or five times and then pat the dough into a circle that is about 7 inches round and about 1 ½ inches thick. Cut this circle in half, then cut each half into 4 pie-shaped wedges (triangles). Place the scones on the baking sheet. Make an egg wash of one well-beaten egg mixed with 1 tablespoon milk and brush the tops of the scones with this mixture. To make the Cinnamon Sugar, mix together the sugar and ground cinnamon. Sprinkle the tops of the scones with a little of the cinnamon sugar.

Bake for about 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2009 3:53 pm

    I’ve always been a little intimidated to make scones myself and I’m not really sure why – thanks for the great looking recipe!

Leave a Reply

