Skip to content

Coconut Cupcakes

August 19, 2009

Coconut Cupcakes

I have never made cupcakes from scratch and I have always wanted to. But for my first time, I really didn’t want to make chocolate or vanilla cupcakes. So I searched around and found a recipe for Coconut cupcakes from a Los Angeles Times article that sounded like something a little different, yet good. The recipe seemed fairly easy at first glimpse so I went for it.

Now I have never had to sift flour when I’ve made baked goods, so I went out and bought a pretty cheap one. Well I wish I would have spent a little more money because the thing took forever to sift over 2 cups of flour. In the end, I cheated and just dumped the rest in because my hand was cramping up! Even though I did not sift all my flour (so guilty), the cupcakes turned out very light and almost, dare I say, fluffy. I tried them before I frosted them too because they smelled so good and boy were they.

The next step was frosting. As I’ve already said, I’m a virgin when it comes to making cupcakes from scratch, frosting included. I found a great butter cream recipe from Recipe Girl. I added a little extra butter in it because I didn’t want to save 2 teaspoons of butter. It was seriously the best frosting I have ever had. Maybe I say that because I’m impartial, but why would you ever bother buying packaged frosting, when you can make your own that is ten times better and not nearly as expensive. It was so light and very easy to spread. I put a little bit of blue food coloring in it too because the cupcakes were going to our pregnant friend who just found out they are having a boy. Congrats!

All in all, I am very happy with my first cupcake baking experience. As I try baking more things on my own, I have decided that store bought stuff just is not the same. Our friends reported back that the cupcakes were delicious and that they finished one plate in just one night! I’d have to say these were a success!

Coconut Cupcakes:

Ingredients:

2 1/3 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup vegetable oil

1 cup buttermilk

3 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 teaspoons almond extract

1 1/3 cup sugar

1 3/4 cup shredded sweetened coconut, plus extra for decorating frosted cupcakes

1) Heat the oven to 325 degrees.  In a medium bowl, sift flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.  Separately, in a large bowl, combine the oil, buttermilk, eggs, vanilla extract, almond extract and sugar.  Using a had mixer, on low speed, mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until smooth, careful not to over mix.  Gently fold in the coconut.

2) Place muffin cups into muffin tins.  Fill each cup with a generous 1/4 cup of batter, so that is comes 3/4 up the side of each cup.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Allow to cool completely before adding frosting.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

