Skip to content

Peanut Butter Blondies

September 1, 2009

My all time favorite food is peanut butter.  I could eat it everyday, either in a sandwich or just a quick spoonful.  Unfortunately my husband does not share the same passion for peanut butter.  He doesn’t really like peanut butter cookies (which I love), so I never make any desserts with peanut butter because I want him to enjoy it too.  Well I found this recipe for Peanut Butter Blondies and I decided that he was going to have to suck it up and eat a little peanut butter because these sounded too good to pass up!

 The recipe was so easy and fast (which I love).  After about 10 minutes in the oven you could smell the sweet aroma of peanut butter throughout the house!  After I took it out, I tried to let it cool before I cut into it, but it just smelled too good.  I was so pleased with the taste, that I thought maybe my husband might even like these.  After he tried my Blondies, I think I may have converted him to the peanut butter side.  He thought they were very good and he has been eating them all week.  I am glad I decided to give peanut butter another try because I sure have been missing it!

 Peanut Butter Blondies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 2 cups dark brown sugar (I prefer dark, so that’s what I use)
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanuts (I substituted peanuts for butterscotch chips)
  •  

    Directions:

    Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Grease a 9-inch by 13-inch pan and set aside.

    In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter and brown sugar, stirring constantly until smooth.  Remove from the heat, and stir in the peanut butter.  Allow to cool while combining the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt – in a large mixing bowl.

    Add the eggs, one at a time, to the brown sugar and peanut butter mixture, mixing well after each addition. Add the vanilla extract and stir to combine.  Pour the mixture into the prepared dry ingredients, and stir to create a thick, smooth batter.

    Transfer the batter to the prepared pan, spreading the batter evenly to the edges of the pan. Sprinkle with the milk chocolate chips and peanuts, lightly pressing them into the batter.

    Bake for 25 minutes.  Allow to cool in the pan.  Cut into 1-2 inch squares.

    Recipes taken from My Kitchen Addicition

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

