Skip to content

Garlic Bubble Bread

September 15, 2009

Garlic Bubble Bread

So I was super lazy last week and really didn’t do too much cooking. I blame the holiday week-end!  So this week I’m starting fresh. I love bread and I have always wanted to make a yeast bread. I’ve always been afraid of baking with yeast, which I cannot explain. I think it’s the fear of the unknown. Who knows. But now I can say I’ve tackled this fear and boy did it turn out good! Homemade bread is far superior than store bought bread. Plus it’s made with love (for my husband).

The bread took a little while to make, only because you have to let the dough rise. I seriously was afraid that when I covered up that bowl, nothing would happen. But to my surprise (and happiness) it worked! My dough had risen to the occasion. So after much patience, I had a beautiful (and I mean mouth-watering, ready to devour) loaf of bread. If I had known it would be this easy, I would have started making homemade bread years ago. My only bit of advice for this recipe is to give yourself a couple of hours to make the bread, it takes a little time.

Ingredients:

1 pkg active dry yeast

1/8 cup warm water (110-115 degrees)

1 cup warm milk (110-115 degrees)

1 tbsp sugar

1/2 tbsp butter

3 1/4-3 1/2 cups flour

Butter Mixture:

1/4 cup butter

1/2 tbsp dried parsley

1 tsp garlic powder

In a large mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Add the milk, sugar, butter, salt and 2 cups of flour.  Beat until smooth and then stir in the remaining flour to form a soft dough. Turn onto a floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic (about 6-8 minutes).  Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.

Punch dough down and turn onto a lightly floured surface.  In a shallow bowl, combine the butter, parsley and garlic powder to create the butter mixture.  Shape the dough into dough balls, then dip into butter  mixture. Place the dough balls into a greased loaf pan, next to each other. Do not crowd them in the pan. Create multiple layers with the dough balls. Pour any extra butter over the dough. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes.

Bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 10 minutes, remove and enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 1:47 am

    Oh yum! This bread looks so good! I just want a big bowl of tomato sauce so I can dip this bread into it. It would be a fabulous meal. I’ve never made bread before. I guess I’ve always been scared of the yeast. I don’t know why? But you make it sound so easy! Thank you!

    • Kim permalink*
      September 18, 2009 3:28 pm

      I understand the fear of yeast as well! But after I did, it wasn’t as intimidating as I thought! Good luck with your first yeast bread!

Leave a Reply

